Writing

One more stab in the dark (with a flashlight!)

It’s been nearly a year since we made the arduous move from Southern California to Middle Tennessee. 

I could be washing dishes right now, or folding clothes, or putting away the clutter still piled precariously on my desk, or I could be working on my syllabi for fall semester.  At this time of night, I should be sleeping.

But I am going to write a blog post. 

I started this project last May, albeit on another blog site.  My husband keeps telling me that I don’t finish things, that I need to pick something and finish it.  He is mostly referring to my writing projects but he could be referring to other things in my life.

As we unpacked our boxes in our new (to us) house (finally!), I realized that I have stuff for all kinds of hobbies:  scrapbooking, quilting, cross-stitch, sewing, and several other random crafty things.  Like a Greek chorus chanting in the background to my life, I keep reading articles, blogs, books, and so on about the need to focus, to choose a goal and work toward it.  I have read several writers’ books about their writing habits and all of them say essentially the same thing: focus and write. 

Duh. 

If you want to be a writer, take yourself seriously and write.

“Well, I don’t have time!” comes a whiney voice from within.

Then it’s not important enough.

Laura Vanderkam (whose blog I will add to my links and favorites, once I figure out how to do that) wrote a  compelling blog post about time (she also wrote a book!).  She bluntly pointed out that saying “I don’t have time” is a euphemism for saying “It doesn’t matter to me.”

Reading her words slapped some reality back into my life.

I’ve been saying I want to write since I was a little kid.  My life isn’t getting any less complicated.  And it’s flying by.

So here we go, folks.  I have no idea if I’ll have readers.  I am not sure what the “focus” of this blog will be. But here I am writing. 

This is important to me. 

The dishes can wait.

7 thoughts on “One more stab in the dark (with a flashlight!)

  1. I am a new follower, so I am just now reading your older posts. After reading this particular blog, I feel compelled to express my gratitude to you for the encouragement you give in your blogs and in real life! You have inspired me on many levels, as my teacher you push me to become the best writer I can be. You show graciousness and patience to those of us who struggle with the formalities of writing. You cause us to dig deeper to discover the true writer within. I appreciate that. As a blogger/friend I read your posts with admiration and gain insight not only to you and your thoughts, but somehow to my inner self too! I have heard the saying “everything happens for a reason” I will apply this thought to having chosen your English class this semester. You are just what the doctor ordered for me at this particular time in my life! I also would continue quoting “every person we meet will have a role in our lives, be it big or small. Some will hurt, betray and make us cry, to become stronger. Some will teach us lessons, not to change us, but for us to realize our mistakes and help us grow, and make us a better person. And some would simply inspire us and love us, just to make us happy.” This thought causes me to lengthen the trail of what brought us together. What were the odds that a Southern California girl would become the teacher who inspired a Southern Kentucky girl?
    As the downhill slide of our semester together begins, I am saddened by the possibility that our scheduled time is dwindling, but I am hopeful that a continued friendship will ultimately ensue!
    Write on!

  2. Have you read Anne Lamott’s book “bird by bird?” More inspiration – if you need it.
    Looking forward to reading future posts.
    T

    • Hi T – I actually have that book on my desk in my “To-read this summer” pile! Just the back cover of Bird by Bird reaffirmed the same message that I keep reading – “start writing and keep writing.” Thank you for your post and your recommendation! I will move Lamott’s book up higher on the list.

  3. You can count me in as a reader;) I enjoyed reading your last blog. I look forward to your updates. Miss you!!

    • Hey Cousin! Thank you for your enthusiastic response! I felt like my last blog was a little too personal, so I deleted it and am starting anew. I will try to share more personal family stuff via email, however. Thank you for reading!

  4. Can’t really be objective… anytime my dear friend writes something and cares enough to send it to me, I will definately be reading it!

What are your thoughts?

